Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Mountain Valley Collegiate Conference

Mountain Valley Collegiate Conference

Adirondack     Clinton     Columbia-Greene     Fulton-Montgomery

Herkimer     Hudson Valley     Mohawk Valley     North Country     Schenectady



 The Mountain Valley Collegiate Conference was an outgrowth of the Northeastern Collegiate Conference, whose membership included an array of differing two as well as four-year educational institutions.

 On October 30,1970, Representatives from six community colleges convened for the purpose of organizing and drawing up a constitution that would unite them into one athletic body who shared compatible educational objectives, size, programs, and geographic locations.  Originally, there were championships in nine sports, all determined by one-day tournaments, with the exception of basketball.

 During the 1976-77 year, plans were formalized for a separate Women's Division within the MVCC.  Currently, there are championships for women members in soccer, volleyball, tennis, cross- country, bowling, basketball, swimming, softball and track.  Men's championships are determined in cross-country, soccer, swimming, basketball, wrestling, track, lacrosse, golf, tennis, baseball, and bowling.

 Competition among the various members is keen.  Many member colleges usually prove to be strong contenders in various Region III sports as well, making the MVCC one of the most viable community college athletic conferences within Region III of the NJCAA.

 Since 1970, the membership has increased to ten.  The Conference charter members consist of Adirondack Community College, SUNY Cobleskill, Fulton-Montgomery Community College, Hudson Valley Community College, Herkimer Community College, and Schenectady County Community College.  Next to realize the desirability of conference membership was SUNY Morrisville, followed by SUNY Delhi and Mohawk Valley Community College.  Most recently, Columbia-Greene joined the body as the tenth member.

 In 2006 SUNY Morrisville dropped out of the Mountain Valley Conference and joined the NCAA Division III ranks.

 Beginning Fall 2008 SUNY Cobleskill departed the conference to become an NCAA Division III Member and Clinton Community College and North Country Community College  joined the conference, to keep us at a healthy and strong 10-member conference.

 Columbia Greene Community College was unanimously voted back into the Mountain Valley Conference effective Fall 2011 competing in women’s volleyball, women’s cross country, men’s basketball, men’s & women’s bowling, baseball, softball, and men’s & women’s golf.